Prospect Watch: Wild’s Avery Peterson up for “Mr. Hockey” Award


Grand Rapids High School forward Avery Peterson talks with the press after being selected by the hometown Minnesota Wild in the sixth round of the 2013 NHL Entry Draft. Mandatory Credit: Minnesota Wild PR

The Minnesota Wild has announced on the team’s website that 2013 sixth round pick Avery Peterson, a senior playing for Grand Rapids High School, is among the top ten candidates for Minnesota’s “Mr. Hockey” Award. The award is given to the most outstanding senior high school hockey player in the state of Minnesota as determined by a panel of NHL scouts, junior scouts and coaches and media members from around the state.

For more information, here’s the full press release taken from the Wild’s website:

"The Minnesota Minute Men announced today the Top Ten Candidates for the 30th Annual Mr. Hockey Award are: Avery Peterson (Grand Rapids), Philip Beaulieu (Duluth East), Tyler Cline (Blaine), Spencer Naas (Benilde St. Margaret’s), Tyler Nanne (Edina), Mitch Slattery (Hill Murray), Steven Spinner (Eden Prairie), Luc Snuggerud (Eden Prairie), Nick Wolff (Eagan) and Zach Yon (Roseau). The Minnesota Minute Men also announced today that Maclean Berglove (Elk River) and Hunter Shepard (Grand Rapids) are the finalists for The Frank Brimsek Award, in recognition of the state’s top senior goaltender.The 30th annual Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet will be held at 12 p.m. on Sunday, March 9 at the Grand Ballroom at RiverCentre. The Boys State High School Hockey Tournament will be held at Xcel Energy Center and Mariucci Arena, March 5-8. The Minnesota Wild sponsor the Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet. The Mr. Hockey Award is hosted, coordinated, and presented by the Minnesota Minute Men.The Mr. Hockey Award is given to the outstanding senior high school boys’ hockey player in the state of Minnesota and is selected by a panel of National Hockey League Scouts, Junior Scouts/Coaches and selected media members from around the state. Three other awards will be presented at the banquet: The Frank Brimsek Award, The John Mariucci Award, given to the Class A and Class AA high school coaches of the year and The Cliff Thompson Award, presented to the “Old Timer Coach” of the year.Previous Mr. Hockey Award winners are: Grant Besse (2013), Justin Kloos (2012), Kyle Rau (2011), Nick Bjugstad (2010), Nick Leddy (2009), Aaron Ness (2008), Ryan McDonagh (2007), David Fischer (2006), Brian Lee (2005), Tom Gorowsky (2004), Nate Dey (2003), Gino Guyer (2002), Marty Sertich (2001), Paul Martin (2000), Jeff Taffe (1999), John Pohl (1998), Aaron Miskovich (1997), Dave Spehar (1996), Erik Rasmussen (1995), Mike Crowley (1994), Nick Checco (1993), Brian Bonin (1992), Darby Hendrickson (1991), Joe Dziedzic (1990), Trent Klatt (1989), Larry Olimb (1988), Kris Miller (1987), George Pelawa (1986) and Tom Chorske (1985).Previous Frank Brimsek Award winners are: David Zevnik (2013), Michael Bitzer (2012), Alex Lyon (2011), Zane Gothberg (2010), Casey O’Connor (2009), Joe Phillippi (2008), Reid Ellingson (2007), Austin Lee (2006), Alec Richards (2005), Matt Lundin (2004), Jon Anderson (2003), Josh Johnson (2002), Eric Aarnio (2001), Jake Brant (2000), Adam Laaksonen (1999), Adam Coole (1998), Kyle Kolquist (1997), Karl Goehring (1996) and Todd Kelzenberg (1995).Hockey fans and the general public are encouraged to purchase tickets and attend the Mr. Hockey Award Banquet. For more information and to purchase tickets to the Banquet visit, email or call Fiona Quick at (612) 214-2444. Individual tickets are $35.00. Become a fan of the Mr. Hockey Award on Facebook or follow the Mr. Hockey Award on Twitter."

In 22 games this season, Peterson has wracked up 30 goals and 25 assists for 55 points and a plus-2 rating. In addition nine of his 30 goals and 20 of his 55 total points have come on the man advantage as he plays a vital role at both 5-on-5 and 5-on-4 hockey. The big 6’3″ 200-pound pivot is coming off his best performance of the season that saw him notch a hat trick and three assists for six points in Grand Rapids’ 8-1 win over Hibbing/Chisholm on Monday night. Two of his three goals came shorthanded.